Travel Tip Tuesday: Road Maps

Did you miss me? I missed an entire week πŸ˜–. I have no good excuse-the week just got away from me! However, I’m back on track! So, here we go!

Road maps. An atlas. Whatever you want to call them…I think they are necessary to keep in your vehicle if you travel. 

I wonder if there is someone reading this that has no idea what I’m talking about (much the same way my kids do not understand a phone with a cord, a VCR, TVs without remotes or car door that didn’t always open from across the parking lot πŸ˜’)

If you are unsure WHAT a map is. Here it is:


You might be wondering WHY I think a map is a great thing to keep in your vehicle, and here is why: Linda (the name for the lady in my GPS-her name is a family joke and comes from The Wedding Singer. I’ll leave it at that! πŸ˜‰) is not always right. *GASP* Yep. I’ll say it again. 
Linda is not always right. 

Neither is Mapquest, Google Maps, etc. *double gasp*

I does pain me a bit to write that because I ❀️❀️❀️ technology. I don’t like thinking that it cannot do everything all the time but, alas, it cannot. πŸ’”

I would need 2 hands to count the amount of times we have pulled ours out because we’ve been detoured onto some road that isn’t recognized and we have had to figure out where we are and how to get back on track. We have also used it when we are in u familiar areas and not sure if we trust the GPS directions. It has truly gotten is out of more than one jam. 

They are also a fun way for kids to track your trip!

They take up very little space. We keep one of the US in the glove compartment. So, go get one. You might be surprised when you find you need it! 

Author: Five Sandals Travel

I am a travel professional, an ocean and travel lover, a wife and mother. I log a lot of miles traveling with my family and my goal is to help families plan amazing vacations and make unforgettable memories.

Leave a Reply

