Stand Up Paddle Boarding-Get your family out there!

Stand up paddle boarding is currently number one on my bucket this for this summer and I thought that maybe it should be on yours, too. 😬

What is stand up paddle boarding and what makes it different from just plain ol’ paddle boarding, you ask? (Or maybe you didn’t ask, or even know there WAS a difference) 

Paddle boarding is done while you remain KNEELING on the board and use your arms to propel yourself. 

Stand up Paddle Boarding is done while you are STANDING on the board and you use a paddle to move yourself through the water. 

One would think that because I have a tendency to keep my toes firmly planted on the Lazy Line, I’d be more interested in traditional paddle boarding so I wouldn’t have to stand up (😂). However, for some reason I’m definitely drawn to the idea of standing up!

I think the great thing about stand up paddle boarding is that ANYONE CAN DO IT-children and dogs are doing it. No. Really-just look!

  
The fact that this is an activity that you can do is a family is something I love about SUP (I decided that writing this allowed me to use the acronym 😉). I’m always looking for something that G5 can do together. I’m ALL about making memories-those are the best part of any trip! 

The other thing that makes this a great family activity is that you can do any place there is water. SUP is not limited to the ocean. If you can kayak somewhere, odds are you can SUP there: lakes, rivers, the ocean, in the city our off the beaten path.

  

I also just discovered that SUP Yoga is a thing. Yep. You read that right. Yoga on your stand up paddle board. It’s actually offered in a lot of locations (even where I live in Upstate NY 😱)

  

I cannot provide links to all places that offer SUP (the laundry will not do itself (I know. I’ve waited before ☹️)), but here are some places to check out if your family is in the area!

Binghamton, NY: Southern Tier Stand Up Paddle 

Tampa, FL: Tampa Bay SUP

Myrtle Beach, SC: Express Water Sports

New Hampshire: Stand Up Paddle Board New Hampshire

South Florida: South Florida Paddle

San Diego, CA: Isle Surf & SUP

If you have experience trying SUP, I’d love to hear about it! Once I’m Ble to try it, I’ll be sure to let you know how it went!

So, get out there and try something new with your family. Even if you never do it again, trying something together as a family is what it is all about. ☺️

☀️Heather 

P.S.  None of these images are mine and could very well be copywriten by SOMEONE, I just have zero idea who!

Author: Five Sandals Travel

I am a travel professional, an ocean and travel lover, a wife and mother. I log a lot of miles traveling with my family and my goal is to help families plan amazing vacations and make unforgettable memories.

Leave a Reply

